Let’s face it, sometimes we need to completely uninstall software to make it work better and Trimble Business Center (TBC) is no exception. Maybe it’s because the program is not running correctly or did not install properly. Alternatively, sometimes we just want to “clean-house” and restore default settings to return to a clean state.

Nearly all PC users are familiar with the Windows “Uninstall Apps” routine. This can be a big help; however, it sometimes falls short of removing everything. Fortunately for TBC users, Trimble offers a free tool called “Office Cleanup Utility” that provides a thorough removal option. The Office Cleanup Utility tool doesn’t just uninstall TBC but also removes additional TBC related utilities and programs. These include UASMaster, Business Center – HCE (BC-HCE), Spectra Precision Survey Office (SPSO), Coordinate System Manager, Feature Definition Manager, Office Synchronizer, TBC External Services, SCS Data Manager, and others.

Trimble updates Office Cleanup Utility regularly, usually with each new release of TBC. To download it, click the following link, then scroll down to the “Installation Utilities” section near the bottom of page.  You will see the utility there.

Download Office Cleanup Utility

Alternatively, you can access the above link by opening TBC, then:

  • click the “Support” dropdown tab
  • click “Geospatial Website” (in the Resources group)
  • scroll down page to the “Support & Downloads” section
  • click on the “Utilities, License, and Installation Support” link
  • scroll down to “Installation Utilities” near bottom of page

CAUTION! Before Proceeding

Users should know Office Cleanup Utility does NOT erase existing TBC projects or previously stored data.  However, caution should still be exercised because when TBC is reinstalled after cleanup, default settings and pathways will be restored. This is generally desirable, but if projects and files were pathed to non-default folders or directories, they may seem to be deleted when TBC is reinstalled. Additionally, if the user modified the contents of “default” files such as Coordinate Systems, Templates, Reports, User Profiles, etc. the files could be overridden by new installations or need to be restored or recreated later.  Prompts will usually indicate these modifications during the reinstallation, but not always. Therefore, I recommend verifying files and locations before proceeding with the cleanup!

To verify TBC’s file paths, try the following:

  • Open TBC
  • Click the “File” dropdown tab
  • Click “Options”
  • Under the General folder, select the “Project Management” and “File Management” pages

If possible, I’d strongly recommend making and saving screen captures of these pages that display file paths. You may also want to select the “Field Data” page and make a screen capture of that too. If TBC will not open or you cannot access these pages, the accompanying video offers information on where you can locate this on your own PC. Finally, if you have customized the Ribbon or Quick Access Toolbar and wish to save preferences, you can right mouse-click them, select Customize, then export your current settings.

Running Office Cleanup Utility

To run Office Cleanup Utility, you will need to be logged into your PC with administrative privileges.  Check with your IT specialist or PC advisor if you’re unsure about this. Once downloaded and saved perform the following steps:

  • Click the file
    • It should install but may appear as if nothing has happened. It does not create a desktop shortcut.
  • Click the Windows “Start” icon
  • Scroll through your “All Programs” list
  • Select the “Trimble Office” folder
  • Click “Utilities” and you should see the Cleanup Utility
  • Run it there and things should generally make sense

For basic reinstallation of TBC, watch this short 3-minute video from Trimble describing the installation and activation process.

I hope this information proves helpful in resolving issues and for keeping your computer and TBC software running smoothly and problem-free!

X